The Governors play a very important role in ensure MCS is following the vision and ethos set out when we opened in 2014. There expertise and knowledge are invaluable in moulding the creative professionals of the future.


The Full Governing Body meets at least every term. The three core strategic governance functions set out in the DfE School Governance Handbook are: ensuring clarity of vision, medicine ethos and strategic direction; holding the principal to account for the performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of its staff; and overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent. We currently have four sub committees:

1. Leadership and management committee

2. Student outcomes and SEND committee

3. Pastoral committee

4. Curriculumn (teaching and Learning) committee

Governors take on specific responsibilities and work with the senior leadership team to monitor and raise standards. The Governing Body have the full range of skills and experience to fulfil its responsibilities. This includes people who are appointed for their particular expertise, parents and staff. All governors give their time voluntarily and work very closely with the Principal and the staff at the school.

The sub Committees are as follows:


Leadership Committee


Steve Kuncewicz

Spencer Wellerman

Peter Ramsay – Non Governor

James Spencer – Non Governor

Chris Phillips – Non Governor

Outcomes/SEND Committee


Simone Spray

Gemma Horridge

Alex Cowyn

Peter Ramsay – Non Governor

Ravinderpal Gehlon – Non Governor

Anthony Collins – Non Governor

Curriculum Committee


Peter Ramsay – Non Governor

Chris Phillips – Non Governor

Matt Green

Marie Garside


Pastoral Committee


Robert Croll

Nimisha Mistry

James Spencer – Non Governor

Ravinderpal Gehlon – Non Governor

Joanne Nasr